California Building Climate Zones

Building climates zones, or California climate zone descriptions for new buildings in California, are divided into 16 climatic boundaries or zones. These zones are incorporated into the Energy Efficiency Standards (Energy Code). Each climate zone has unique climatic conditions which dictate minimum efficiency requirements needed for that specific climate zone. For example; climate zone 12 is bounded by other surrounding climate zones such as 11, 16, 13, 4, 3, and 2 and each with its unique weather characteristics. In climate zone 12, R-38 insulation is required in the ceilings, R-19 in the walls, and high efficiency glass windows. Other climate zones may use less insulation and have other efficiency requirements.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated July 29, 2019, 14:30 (CDT)
Created July 29, 2019, 14:30 (CDT)
dcat_issued 2017-09-29T14:17:49.000Z
dcat_modified 2018-01-04T15:32:04.343Z
dcat_publisher_name California Energy Commission